Gorordo Avenue, Cebu

WK8A1529

Welcome to the birthplace of Philippine Roman Catholicism! Welcome to Cebu City!

Roman Catholicism started in the early 16th century led by the Spaniards. The Legazpi expedition of 1565 that originated and was organized from Mexico city marked the beginning of the Hispanisation of the Philippines. It was in Cebu where the Philippine Church and Christianity began. Roughly 95% of Cebuanos are Roman Catholics.

Cebu has a lot of Churches; and when it comes to masses, it is the only place in the Philippines were I’ve seen a Church packed with people at 10am on a Tuesday. Among the hundreds of beautiful churches in Cebu, I personally chose this small church because of the personal impact it had on my trip; not to mention of course my bias when it comes to Gothic churches. It probably would not rank as one of the most beautiful churches for some, but for me personally, it is perhaps one of the best churches I’ve seen in Cebu. Its beauty is not so loud to the point that you are completely overwhelmed, thus not allowing you to pause, reflect and to listen to our Lord.

Tracing its history, Asilo is said to be owned and administered by the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul. Its beginnings could be traced back to five alumnae of Colegio de la Inmaculada Concepcion in Cebu City namely, Doña Esperanza de Velez, Doña Mena Fortich de Escaño, Doña Felicisima Vda. De Jerez, Doña Feliza de Villamor and Doña Carmen de Sotto.

Erected in the 1950’s, the Asilo dela Milagrosa Church is considered a local heritage site. Its lancet windows are of stained glass and hint of Gothic influence. Beside it is a garden plaza and within its compound is a charity house for orphans and senior citizens.

WK8A1534WK8A1539WK8A1558WK8A1559

I was fortunate that during my visit in this Church, His Eminence Joseph Cardinal Zen Ze-kiun, SDB, DD, Bishop Emeritus of Hong Kong, celebrated a Pontifical Mass in the extraordinary form of the Roman rite.

WK8A1599WK8A1617WK8A1635WK8A1638WK8A1647WK8A1676WK8A1687WK8A1692WK8A1697WK8A1718WK8A1745WK8A1761WK8A1856

WK8A1848WK8A1866WK8A1872WK8A1878

I am captivated with the people of Cebu because of their immense faith. It was my first time to see people stop working at 3 o’clock to pray the 3 o’clock prayer. First time to see people attend mass as early as 4:30am; and if schedule does not allow them to, they would still find time to pass by the image of the Sto Nino to offer a prayer. It really moved me. How I pity myself in terms of faith after seeing the Cebuanos.

Unfortunately because of work, I could only stay in Cebu for 15 hours; I had to catch a flight in the evening and report for work the next day. Although my first trip to Cebu was short, it was one of the best trips I had for the first quarter of 2016.

Truly, this place is a haven for Church enthusiasts and food lovers like myself. I encourage you all to visit this place which only takes about an hour and a half by plane from Manila.

Visit Cebu and bask in the beauty and richness of their Faith, their mangoes, and their lechon.

 

Laudetur Iesus Christus!